When You Ask Me Where I’m Going by Jasmine Kaur Review

Hello my fellow little munchkins. How are you all doing? I am doing well. I am finally on my last day of Junior year which is both a relief and slightly scary. Just due to being closer towards adulthood. I am actually going to sign up for another community college today with my dad so that is going to be fun, especially since now I will be going to two community colleges at once on top of high school. I do plan on taking around 5 classes over the summer so while it may actually kill me I will get it done!

Anyways, why don’t we get into the review?


43453732

Author: Jasmine Kaur

Genre: Young Adult, Poetry

Pages: 256

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publishing Date: October 1st, 2019

Description according to Goodreads, ” Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

scream
so that one day
a hundred years from now
another sister will not have to
dry her tears wondering
where in history
she lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.”


Review:

The style of the book was definitely original due to how it begins as poetry and then turns to becoming a regular novel story and then back into a poetry style. It continuously repeats only after the first half of the book into the ending of the second half of the book.

I LOVED the illustrations and how they were incorporated into the poetry allowing for it to becoming easy to grasp and aesthetically pleasing.

giphy-2

The themes that were discussed in the book were not some of the lightest however it gave me an even greater sense of appreciation for this book due to it not shying away.  On the topic of that it wasn’t all about America, or Canada but about immigration from another country and another culture.

While I don’t read poetry that often I can tell when a poetry book is good due to it keeping my attention. I highly recommend this book to everyone when it comes out for pre-order.

TW: Rape, Suicide, Death, Mental Illness.

5/5 stars


Where to Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Book Depository 


Notice:

In accordance with FTC guidelines/regulations for bloggers and endorsements, please note that all the books reviewed on this blog were either purchased by me or provided to me by the author/publisher in exchange for an honest, unbiased review and nothing else. I gain nothing in return for the review other than the book itself.
My reviews reflect my honest opinion and remain uninfluenced despite the Yallwest through which I obtained the book.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s