Tell Me Three Things By Julie Buxbaum Review

21712227._SX540_.jpg

Pages: 338

Author: Julie Buxbaum

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publishing Date: April 5, 2016

Description according to Amazon, A New York Times Bestseller

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

“Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum’s book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page”

My First Thoughts:

  • Like any contemporary book I always go into it thinking that it will be a cute, light-hearted book with some cute scenes.

Thoughts I Had During and After:

  • In the beginning I didn’t understand the e-mail concept of the book but after a chapter or two I understood what was happening, but hey, that is just me.
  • I found the idea of someone finding me email and contacting me anonymously creepy, because it’s like just tell me your name.
  • This book was a quick and fast read like I mentioned, but the reason why was because it didn’t have much of a development as I thought it would.
  • I didn’t like how they were constantly describing people as being blond, skinny, slutty e.t.c as well as I didn’t care for how it stereotyped many people in this story as the same annoying person from L.A, California.
  • The plot and the protagonist are both cliche and predictable, which bothered me to 39751827%.
  • Now the book did start off being hilarious, and just like a perfect contemporary but it all went down from there.
  • If you already read this or not the waffles are mentioned like 6 TIMES. THAT’S IT. LIKE WHAT THE HECK!?!??!!?!?!?!?
  • The main character had very little amounts of standards. I mean I did like her character development but she only developed in certain areas.
  • The pacing of this story is just ugh. I can’t even. *Shakes head in sadness*

All in all this book just wasn’t right for me but I did enjoy certain bits. I believe that this book could’ve had the potential to be better but it didn’t take that chance but I will always give an author a second chance to see if this is what their writing style is like OR if that is just how they wrote the book.

I give this book a 2/5 Stars


2 thoughts on “Tell Me Three Things By Julie Buxbaum Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s