This Savage Song Review

Hello munchkins?

How are you?

I am good.

I am officially back to school and I am exhausted. Like this is insane. UGH!

But, now lets get to what you came here to read about, this review.

 

Pages: 469

Author: Victoria Schwab

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Publishing Date: July 5, 2016

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Science Fiction. 

Description According To Amazon, ” #1 New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.”

First Thoughts:

  • I believed that this was going to be a quirky, fun read.
  • I thought that there was going to be a

Thoughts I Had While Reading And After:

  • While I was reading it I found it to have a deeper and more unique but essential point to the plot.
  • The first 100 pages started out somewhat slow for me as I was reading a majority of the world building in this new world.
  • I loved that their wasn’t a romantic plot in this story not because I don’t like romance but, because it was something new that kept me interested into the story/.
  • I loved the idea that the monsters were made out of sheer violence, as that is what it is like in the real world too.
  • I love that both the “monster” and the human in this book were struggling throughout the whole plot along with how had trouble finding their way in their world.
  • In this story we have three different types of monsters:
    • Sunsi: Born out of the worst acts of (mass devastation) violence.
      • Eat your soul through playing a instrument or singing.
        • Unlike any other monster they have two forms: Human and Devil.
          • They have marks on their skin for every day they haven’t eaten a soul.
    • Malachi: Born of murders.
      • Somewhat like vampires. Are Weakened by sunlight.
    • Corasi: Born of non-lethal acts of violence.
      • Can’t hurt you unless you are in the shadows.
    • Theses are the three only monsters and they are all terrible in their own way

In conclusion, this is a wonderful book that will keep you well entertained after the first chapter or two and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of YA, Fiction, Sci-Fi and/or Fantasy.

I give this book 5/5 Stars

dc6e8ba013bf23d47695b99cabf05074.jpg


2 thoughts on “This Savage Song Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s